Sunday, July 14, 2024
HomeNewsTwo Mon Ministers join NUG government

Two Mon Ministers join NUG government


The Mon State Interim Coordination Committee (MSICC) elected two Mon Ministers to serve on the National Unity Government (NUG), which has been created in direct opposition to the military coup and its State Administrative Council (SAC). 

The two Mon representatives are Deputy Minister of Defense Nai Kaung Ro, and the Minister of Planning, Finance and Investment, Min Zeya.

Min Zeyar Oo said, “We are participating in the NUG government as the MSICC representatives. A new political path has been formed by the Mon Democratic Forces. In English, it was called the Mon State Inter-Cooperation Committee (MSICC).”

Min Zeyar Oo added, “One thing I want to say is that at this time, I do not think it is appropriate to describe the background of the organizations involved in the MSICC. We are not part of NUG as individuals. ” 

The NUG government was formed by President U Win Myint, and  State Counselor Aung San Suu Kyi.  Other positions within the NUG include a Vice-President, a Prime Minister, 10 Ministers in 11 Ministries and 12 Deputy Ministers.

Two other representatives elected by the Mon Unity Party (MUP) have chosen to sit on the State Administration Council (SAC) and continue to hold their positions at the state level.

Related articles

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Stay Connected


Latest posts