Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / Mon political parties to compete in over 50 constituencies

Mon political parties to compete in over 50 constituencies

Reported by: > Reported by Wonsa Mon, The upcoming 2015 election will see the leading Mon political parties, the Mon National Party (MNP) and All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP), contest in more than fifty constituencies respectively.

The MNP has already planned to contest in 57 constituencies across 15 townships, not only in Mon State, but in both Karen State and Tenasserism Division.

“In Mon State alone, we will compete in 9 townships. We will not run in Belin Township. In Karen State, we will contest in Kyarinnseikkyi, Hpa-an, Kawkareik and Myawaddy townships. In Tenasserism Division, we will compete in Yebyu and Kawtaung townships,” said Nai Layih Tamarh, general secretary of the MNP in an interview with IMNA.

Nai Layih Tamarh also said that although the MNP already appointed their candidates, there could be changes. The MNP will publish the renewed list of candidates soon.

According to what IMNA disclosed, MNP’s general secretary Nai Layih Tamarh will compete in Thanbyuzayat Township, while Dr. Kyi Win, Dr. Min Soe Lin and Nai Taung Shein, who won in the 1990 elections, will contest in Mudon, Ye and Kawkareik townships, respectively.

Although it was reportedly said that the MNP would have 9 representatives as women participating in the forthcoming elections, it is yet to be confirmed.

The AMDP, meanwhile, planned to have over 50 representatives competing in the elections, according to Nai San Tin, Joint-secretary (1) of the AMDP.

“What we have expected is to have more than 50 candidates competing [in the elections]. But at the moment, we cannot confirm that. We can tell such exact details on August 2,” said Nai San Tin.

The AMDP was founded on April 7, 2010, and it participated in the 2010 elections, wherein it won 16 Hluttaw representative seats.

The MNP which was at first founded as the Mon National Democratic Front (MNDF), on October 11, 1988, and competed in the 1990 elections as the MNDF. It won 5 seats from the 1990 elections. However, it was not acknowledged and was ultimately disbanded by the then-government. Following the 2010 elections, the MNDF resumed in 2012 but registered under the Mon Democracy Party. It was again changed to the current name, the MNP, in 2014.

About monnews

Check Also

Mottama Project to establish township farmers’ association within three years

The Community-Led Coastal Management in the Gulf of Mottama Project is planning to establish a …

%d bloggers like this: