Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / 2015 Election Watch / 5 candidates registered to compete for Chaungzone Tsp’s Pyithu Hluttaw

5 candidates registered to compete for Chaungzone Tsp’s Pyithu Hluttaw

Reported by:

Five candidates have registered to compete in the by-election for the Pyithu Hluttaw constituency of Chaungzone Township, Mon State, according to Mawlamyine District Election Sub-commission.

The candidates in question are U Aung Kyi Thein, of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), U Tin Wai of the Ethnic Nationalities Unity Party, U Aye Win of the National League for Democracy (NLD), U Win Htut of the All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP), and U Sein Mya Maung of the Mon National Party (MNP).

“December 7 was the last day for the candidates’ registration. We have five candidates enrolled to compete for the Pyithu Hluttaw post in the by-election,” said U Htin Kyaw, an official of the Mawlamyine District Election Sub-commission.

Map of vacant constituencies for the 2017 by-election (photo: UEC)
Map of vacant constituencies for the 2017 by-election (photo: UEC)
U Htin Kyaw added that parties could remove their registered candidates prior to December 9, if they wish to do so. The Mawlamyine District Election Sub-commission will examine the applications of the five registered candidates from December 12 to 18. The Sub-commission will submit the candidate list to the Union Election Commission after it is verified.

The announcements of the registered Hluttaw candidates, formally known as The Form 10, will be advertised on January 2.

In the 2015 General Election, the NLD candidate Daw Khim Htay Kyaow was elected for the Changzone Township’s Pyithu Hluttaw constituency. However, because she was obligated to serve the Constitutional Law Office, the Pyithu Hluttaw constituency was left vacant.

During the 2015 general election, 62 election stations were set up across Chaungzone Township, and 127,249 votes were cast, according to the Mon State Election Sub-commission.

There are 18 vacant constituencies to contest in the by-election which will take place on April 1, 2017. The 18 constituencies include 8 constituencies for Pyithu Hluttaw, 3 for Amyotha Hluttaw, and 7 for State/Regional Hluttaw.

About monnews

Check Also

Caption: The New Mon State Party chair speaks at central committee meeting. (Photo – NMSP)

Mon State gov’t urges ethnic armed group to sign the NCA

The Mon State government is pressuring the local ethnic armed group to swiftly sign the …

%d bloggers like this: