Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / Dr. Aung Naing Oo elected as deputy speaker of Mon State Hluttaw

Dr. Aung Naing Oo elected as deputy speaker of Mon State Hluttaw

Reported by:

Dr. Aung Naing Oo, the representative of the All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP) and elected delegate from Chaungzone Township Constituency (1), was elected as deputy speaker yesterday at Mon State Hluttaw [Parliament]’s sixth day of their first session.

The deputy speaker position was vacant after U Min Min Oo, who was deputy speaker and representative of the National League for democracy (NLD), was appointed as the chief minister of Mon State. In order to fill up the post, Hluttaw representatives elected new nominees yesterday [April 5] at Mon State Hluttaw, in the Moulmein, capital of Mon State.

 Newly-elected deputy speaker Dr. Aung Naing Oo (Photo: MNA)
Newly-elected deputy speaker Dr. Aung Naing Oo (Photo: MNA)
“What I’d most like to be is deputy speaker. This post is the democratic lifeblood of the Hluttaw [Parliament]. If the Hluttaw is strong, democracy will improve. It is also the Hluttaw that ensures everyone is governing responsibly,” said newly elected Deputy Speaker, Dr. Aung Naing Oo, sole representative from the AMDP and re-elected from Chaungzone Township Constituency (1) in the 2015 elections.

Competing for the post of deputy speaker was also Dr. Khin Naing Oo of the NLD. However, Dr. Aung Naing Oo won 13-12. There were 5 informal votes.

“Dr. Aung Naing Oo has experience from the last term. As he falls into this post, the work [at Hluttaw] will be able to run smoothly. For me, I wanted a Mon ethnic representative appointed for this post,” said Min Aung Mon, Hluttaw representative from Kyaikmayaw Township Constituency (2).

At the Hluttaw, Min Aung Mon, representative of the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), submitted the list of deputy candidates. The candidates were Dr. Aung Naing Oo, U Zaw Zaw Htoo of the NLD representative from Paung Township Constituency (2), and Dr. Khin Naing Oo of Belin Township Constituency (2) and the NLD representative. To elect the deputy speaker, all of the Hluttaw representatives, aside from the house speaker, had to vote.

Mon State Hluttaw has 31 representatives; 19 representatives from the National League for Democracy (NLD), 2 representatives from the Mon National Party (MNP), 1 representative from the All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP), and 8 representatives from the Tatmadaw (army).

About monnews

Check Also

Mottama Project to establish township farmers’ association within three years

The Community-Led Coastal Management in the Gulf of Mottama Project is planning to establish a …

%d bloggers like this: