Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / U Min Min Oo sworn in as Mon State Chief Minister

U Min Min Oo sworn in as Mon State Chief Minister

Reported by:

U Min Min Oo, nominated by President Htin Kyaw, was inaugurated as the chief minister of Mon State on Thursday [March 31], at Mon State Hluttaw, in Moulmein, the capital of Mon State.

In front of the House Speaker Daw Tin Tin Ei, U Min Min Oo swore an oath as the chief minister of Mon State. The ceremony took place at State Hluttaw during the fourth day of the parliament conference’s first session.

Originally from Belin Township, Mon State, the newly appointed chief minister is 46 years old, a B.E (Electronics) graduate and elected from Belin Township Constituency (2), as a representative for the National League for Democracy (NLD).

Mon State’s new chief minister taking the oath (Photo: MNA)
Mon State’s new chief minister taking the oath (Photo: MNA)
“I have to review the relevant ministries’ work such as the poor educational standards in certain townships. What I know is that there aren’t many schools in rural areas. If I discover this, I will give priority to those areas. I will give first priority to schools in rural areas where the majority of ethnic people live,” said the new Chief Minister U Min Min Oo, in an interview with MNA.

“It is not just chief minister U Min Min Oo taking office. There won’t be any problems since the whole NLD is taking over. However, it all depends on their work and willingness to do it,” said U Thant Zaw, an observer present at the inauguration ceremony.
U Thant Zaw added that there is more freedom at Hluttaw now than during the last government’s term. For instance, visiting the Hluttaw is easier. The staff are very friendly and the house speaker also warmly welcomes visitors to the Hluttaw.

However, some Mon State Hluttaw representatives have commented that the new chief minister does not have much political experience.

It is reportedly stated that although there were 9 ministries during U Ohn Myint Chief Minister’s administration in Mon State, the NLD-led government have reduced this to 6 ministries.

The next conference of Mon State’s Hluttaw will take place on April 4, according to an announcement made by Mon State House speaker Daw Tin Tin Ein yesterday [March 31].

Although U Min Min Oo has already been sworn in as Mon State’s chief minister, the ministers for Mon State’s respective ministries have yet to be appointed.

Furthermore, in front of the house speaker Mann Win Khaing Than, the President Htin Kyaw, along with vice-presidents, also were sworn in on Wednesday, in Nay Pyi Taw. Following the president’s inauguration, 18 ministers also were sworn in for their respective ministerial posts.

About monnews

Check Also

Mon State parliament urges government to help keep Kyaikhtiyo clean

The Mon State Hluttaw has had enough with trash piling up around Kyaikhtiyo Pagoda. The …

%d bloggers like this: