Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / First woman elected to chair Mon State Hluttaw

First woman elected to chair Mon State Hluttaw

Reported by: >

The first woman has been elected as chairperson of Mon State Hluttaw during the first regular state Hluttaw conference yesterday morning. The appointment was made at the Mon State Hluttaw in Moulmein, the capital of Mon State.

Appointed Mon Hluttaw Chairwoman Daw Tin Ei (Photo: ThanLwin Times)
Appointed Mon Hluttaw Chairwoman Daw Tin Ei (Photo: ThanLwin Times)
At the conference on February 8, Kyaik Hto Township Constituency (2) winner Dr. Aye Zan of the NLD was briefly appointed the assembly chairman. Daw Tin Ei of the NLD, who won the Thanbyuzayat Township Constituency (1) was then elected as the Hluttaw Chairwoman. Concurrently, U Min Min Oo of the NLD and elected Belin Township Constituency (2) representative was appointed as vice-chairman of the State Hluttaw.

“It is important for the law-passing capacity at the Hluttaw. We will pass laws that will protect people’s lives and properties as well as be beneficial to the people. At Hluttaw, we will mainly work on this law-passing,” said Daw Tin Ei, the newly elected Mon State Hluttaw Chairwoman.

Daw Tin Ei added that at the moment she couldn’t talk overtly about the future implementation of state-level matters but only comment on general issues.

The number of newly elected representatives for Mon State Hluttaw is 23. The Hluttaw is comprised of 19 representatives from NLD, 2 from Mon National Party, 1 from All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP) and 1 from Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP).

“We want to have our [Mon] people appointed for Mon State Chairperson and vice-chairperson. Only a few representatives from Mon parties were elected. However, my wish is to appoint one of them. Even if it is a vice-chairperson position. If a Mon representative were appointed they’d have a better understanding of what is happening with the public. Now they [NLD] only appoint their own representatives. If only we could do this, but it’s just not possible, because in total there are only 11 [elected] Mon people at this Hluttaw,” said Min Aung Mon, a Mon but representative of the USDP, elected from Kyaikmayaw Township Constituency (2).

Min Aung Mon continued that only Mon people know the needs of Mon people. Everyone should cooperate for the benefit of the [Mon] people.

At yesterday’s conference, outgoing Chairman U Kyin Pe handed over his chairmanship to Daw Tin Ei. All 31 Hluttaw representatives, comprised of 23 elected representatives and 8 representatives from the military, were sworn in at the first regular session.

About monnews

Check Also

MNEC to hold conference to draft national ethnic language education policy

The Mon National Education Committee (MNEC) announced that they will hold a two-day conference in …

%d bloggers like this: