Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / Vacant positions at AMDP’s executive committee filled

Vacant positions at AMDP’s executive committee filled

Reported by: >
AMDP members seen at its first time annual conference (Photo: IMNA)
AMDP members seen at its first time annual conference (Photo: IMNA)
Aye Mi Aung – The All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP) filled four vacant posts of its central executive committee (EC) at its June 22nd meeting held at the group’s headquarters in Moulmein, Mon State.

According to Nai Than Shwe, AMDP spokesman, the newly appointed members include Nai Chan Htoy of Chaungzone Township, Nai Khin Maung Yin of Rangoon Division, Nai Chan Nai of Moulmein, and Nai Khin Maung Myint of Tenasserim Division.

“Those positions were left vacant [because] former chairman Nai Ngwe Thein and [former EC member] Nai Chit Oo resigned from the party, while [former EC member] Nai Sein Aung passed away, and [Joint Secretary-2] Nai Khin Aung is having health problems”, said Nai Than Shwe.

Former AMDP chairman and EC member Nai Ngwe Thein and EC member Nai Chit Oo had ambitions to unite the AMDP and Mon Democracy Party (MDP), later to be known as the Mon National Party (MNP). In response, the AMDP released a statement wherein the party dismissed the two men from their positions within the AMDP.

“We acknowledge that [Nai Ngew Thein and Nai Chit Oo] broke the rules, which should be respected, as they said that the two parties merged, since each party did not [decide] to unite, but only individual members left the party and joined another”, said AMDP General Secretary Dr. Min Nwe Soe.

According to Dr. Min Nwe Soe, who spoke at the press conference during AMDP’s first annual conference last May, in the current political situation, there is no possibility, as of yet, for to Mon parties to merge. After the 2015 election, and based upon analysis on the political situation at that time, Dr. Min Nwe Soe notes that two parties will probably unify.

At the AMDP’s 2014 annual conference, the party also appointed 21 members to the executive committee, including Nai Seik as party chairman, Dr. Nai Hla Aung as vice-chairman, Dr. Min Nwe Soe as General Secretary, and Nai San Tin as Joint General Secretary 1.

About monnews

Check Also

Mottama Project to establish township farmers’ association within three years

The Community-Led Coastal Management in the Gulf of Mottama Project is planning to establish a …

%d bloggers like this: