Mon  ၊ Burmese

Home / News / Two Mon Officials Appointed as Ministers of Mon State

Two Mon Officials Appointed as Ministers of Mon State

Reported by:

By LAWI WENG – Ohn Myint, the chairman of the regime-backed Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP), who recently became the Prime Minister of Mon State, has appointed two members of the All Mon Regions Democracy Party (AMDP) as ministers of Mon State among 9 elected officials, according to AMDP leaders.

Min Naw Soe and Nai Lawi Oung

Speaking to the Independent Mon News Agency on Monday, the chairman of the AMDP, Nai Ngwe Thein, said, “I just heard that he (Ohn Myint) appointed two people from our party. Those are Min Naw Soe and Lawi Oung. I do not know yet who else has been appointed”.

Min Naw Soe is the secretary of the AMDP and Lawi Oung is a committee member.

“In my personal view, I do not want them to join Ohn Myint. I want them to stand in opposition. As the opposition party, we should criticize the USDP” Nai Ngwe Thein said.

The AMDP states that they have 63 committee members, including Min Naw Soe and Lawi Oung.

“They may leave the party if they become ministers of the state, but we have not yet asked them about it,” said Nai Ngwe Thein.

The parliamentary session restarted on February 11th, and it continues to be held today in the Mawyawatty Garden, at the building site of the Mon State Peace and Development Council office in Moulmein.

No Mon candidates were elected as head of the State’s Parliament in Mon State, which was convened on January 31. USDP members dominated with majority votes during the opening of the new parliament, which was the first in Burma for 20 years.

About monnews

Check Also

Mottama Project to establish township farmers’ association within three years

The Community-Led Coastal Management in the Gulf of Mottama Project is planning to establish a …

%d bloggers like this: